Tobias Picker, described as “a genuine creator with a fertile unforced vein of invention” (The New Yorker) whose music “displays a distinctively soulful style that is one of the glories of the current musical scene” (BBC Music Magazine), has drawn performances and commissions by the world’s leading musicians, orchestras, and opera houses. Mr. Picker’s operas have been commissioned by Santa Fe Opera (Emmeline), LA Opera (Fantastic Mr. Fox), Dallas Opera (Thérèse Raquin), San Francisco Opera (Dolores Claiborne), and the Metropolitan Opera (An American Tragedy). Mr. Picker’s sixth opera, Awakenings, based on the novel by Oliver Sacks, will be premiered by Opera Theatre of Saint Louis in June 2022. He is currently composing his seventh opera, Lili Elbe, to premiere at Switzerland’s Theater St. Gallen in October 2023. He has composed numerous symphonic works including three symphonies; concertos for violin, viola, cello, oboe; four piano concertos; and a ballet, Awakenings, commissioned by the Rambert Dance Company. His extensive discography includes the 2020 Grammy Award-winning “Best Opera Recording” of Fantastic Mr. Fox (BMOP Sound) and a recently released recording of his new work Opera Without Words paired with his melodrama The Encantadas, performed by the Nashville Symphony (Naxos). Mr. Picker has received numerous awards and prizes and was elected to lifetime membership in the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2012. Mr. Picker served as composer-in-residence of the Houston Symphony (1985-1990) and subsequently for the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival and the Pacific Music Festival. In 2010 he founded Opera San Antonio, and he served as its artistic director until 2015. Mr. Picker was born in New York City in 1954. He studied composition with Charles Wuorinen, Elliott Carter, and Milton Babbitt, and received his BM degree from Manhattan School of Music, MM degree from Juilliard, and MFA from Princeton University. He has served as Artistic Director of Tulsa Opera since 2016. His music is published exclusively by Schott Music.

Posted: Feb-11-2022
Row 1: Michelle Bradley, Sam Briggs, Daniela Candillari, Francesco Cilluffo, Martin Luther Clark; 
Row 2: Aaron Crouch, Allegra De Vita, Michelle DeYoung, Leslie Dunner, Tara Faircloth;
Row 3: Kimille Howard, Brian Jagde, Victoria Lawal, V. Savoy McIlwain, Leona Mitchell;
Row 4: Kenneth Overton, Tobias Picker, Andrew Potter, Abigail Raiford, Morris Robinson;
Row 5: Jennifer Roderer, Ashraf Sewailam, Nathan Stark, Todd Thomas, Ann Toomey
Posted: Mar-31-2022